The Soul of the Rhino

The Soul of the Rhino

A Nepali Adventure With Kings and Elephant Drivers, Billionaires, and Bureaucrats, Shamans and Scientists, and the Indian Rhinoceros

Book - 2008
Rate this:
The story of a Nepalese who has spent his entire life safeguarding an endangered speciesThis new release is a spirited yet humble account of one man s scientific career and personal journey to save the endangered rhinoceros in his native Nepal. Fresh out of university, Mishra began his work with aboriginal tribes, the Nepalese royal house, the World Wildlife Fund, and the World Bank to protect the animal in its Himalayan habitat. In spite of decades spent political arm-wrestling, traveling and fund-raising, Mishra is still fearful to this day that Maoist insurgents and poachers will kill off the Asian rhinoceros for good a tragedy after all his hard-won gains. This is the first book about saving the Asian one-horned rhinoceros, and the only one to delve into the multi-layered political labyrinths of wildlife conservation in South Asia. Filled with candor and bittersweet humor, Mishra recreates his journey on behalf of the rhino, an ugly yet enchanting, terrifying yet delicate creature. In the tradition of Leakey and Fossey, Mishra will be hailed by the media as the animal s advocate, and SOUL OF THE RHINO will quickly engage the soul of the reader.Hemanta Mishra now lives in Virginia. This is his first book."
Publisher: Guilford, Conn. : Lyons Press, 2008
ISBN: 9781599211466
1599211467
Call Number: 333.9516 M6875s
Characteristics: xxiii, 232 p., [8] p. of plates : ill. ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Ottaway, Jim Jr

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SFPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top