Cool Gray City of Love

Cool Gray City of Love

49 Views of San Francisco

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
"A kaleidoscopic homage both personal and historical . . . Kamiya's symphony of San Francisco is a grand pleasure." - New York Times Book Review The bestselling love letter to one of the world's great cities, San Francisco, by a life-long Bay Area resident and co-founder of Salon. Cool, Gray City of Love brings together an exuberant combination of personal history, deeply researched history, in-depth reporting, and lyrical prose to create an unparalleled portrait of San Francisco. Each of its 49 chapters explores a specific site or intersection in the city, from the mighty Golden Gate Bridge to the raunchy Tenderloin to the soaring sea cliffs at Land's End. Encompassing the city's Spanish missionary past, a gold rush, a couple of earthquakes, the Beats, the hippies, and the dot-com boom, this book is at once a rambling walking tour, a natural and human history, and a celebration of place itself-a guide to loving any city more faithfully and fully.For readers of E. B. White's Here is New York , Jose Saramago's Journey to Portugal , or Alfred Kazin's A Walker in the City, Cool, Gray City of Love is an ambitious, insightful one-of-a-kind book for a one-of-a-kind city.
Publisher: New York : Bloomsbury, 2013
Edition: 1st U.S. ed
ISBN: 9781620401255
1620401258
Call Number: EBOOK AXIS 360
Characteristics: 1 online resource (xii, 384 p.) : ill
Additional Contributors: Baker & Taylor Axis 360

Opinion

From Library Staff

An exuberant combination of personal insight, deeply researched history, in-depth reporting, and lyrical prose to create an unparalleled portrait of San Francisco. Each of its 49 chapters explores a specific site or intersection in the city, from the mighty Golden Gate Bridge to the raunchy Tende... Read More »

“49 views of San Francisco” of historical and personal perspective.

List - Golden Gate Park
SFPL_Adults Apr 01, 2020

49 short tales drawn from San Francisco's rich and varied history, from the Spanish missions to the modern day.

Cool, Gray City of Love brings together an exuberant combination of personal insight, deeply researched history, in-depth reporting, and lyrical prose to create an unparalleled portrait of San Francisco. Each of its 49 chapters explores a specific site or intersection in the city, from the mighty... Read More »

In each of the 49 chapters (a reference to the supposedly 49 square miles the city encompasses) of this book, longtime Bay Area resident and writer Gary Kamiya explores a specific site or intersection in the city, highlighting forgotten facts, lost lore and historical oddities along with his pers... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
DBRL_ReginaF Aug 07, 2019

This was the perfect travel companion book for my recent (and first) visit to San Francisco!

m
Mooseum
Oct 08, 2016

Having grown up in the Bay Area and lived in San Francisco during the 1970s, this book was an eye-opener. Kamiya explores different aspects of a city I thought were familiar, and makes me feel like it is a city that I barely know. The best thing about this book is how he writes about locations he loves with a personal eye, while integrating the history of the place as well as interesting sociological, geographical and sometimes geological attributes. This is a highly informative book and the personal observations are always heartfelt.

l
leoncon8
Nov 12, 2014

Great book giving you an in-depth look at the city of San Francisco. From it's past, creation, and events that make it what it is, the author covers it all . . . and then some.

Makes me want to visit the 49 specific sites that he gives the backstory for. Great read.

jpainter Jul 18, 2014

Well written and fascinating glimpse into nooks and crannies of San Francisco, with some history thrown in for good measure. I plan on using this as an off-the-beaten-path guidebook when I return to visit.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SFPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top