With Malice

With Malice

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
19
For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive, compulsive read about a teenage girl who wakes up in a hospital bed and cannot remember the last six weeks of her life, including the accident that killed her best friend--only what if the accident wasn't an accident?
Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, [2016]
ISBN: 9780544805095
0544805097
Call Number: TEEN F COOK
Characteristics: 316 p. ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Jill has no memory of the last six weeks. Was her friend’s death really an accident?

List - Teen Picks - Mystery
SFPL_Teen May 10, 2016

Jill has no memory of the last six weeks. Was her friend’s death really an accident?


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
Sophia222
Aug 25, 2020

This novel tells the story of a girl who wakes up after a car accident with no memory of months before. I found the main character relatable in her motivations and internal monologue. I enjoyed the mystery of this story, though it did not have the most satisfying ending. In any case, I recommend this book to teenagers who enjoy mysteries. :)

Spoilers ahead.
Although I liked the process of the main character remembering her trip to Italy, I didn't like the way it was almost as if she were someone else while she was on that trip. Her choices and actions did not line up with her present state in the hospital. It might have been beneficial if the author had explained some of the main character's jealousy, before the accident and the trip to Italy, to justify her resentment for her best friend.

m
Maria_Wa
Aug 14, 2020

This story is captivating and intriguing from start to finish. I enjoyed the incorporation of outer-story elements, like interviews and blog posts. There are so many twists and turns, and I enjoyed every page.

p
penelopegomez
Jul 30, 2020

Holy Cow, I never in a million years thought this book was going to end the way that it did! Basically in this book a high school student named Jill and her best friend Simone go on their senior school trip all the way to ITALY! I don't know what kind of rich school these kids are attending but that was not even an option when I was in high school. I would have loved to go to Italy with my best friend and had little to no adult supervision. Anyway Jill wakes up in the hospital after a horrible car accident that happened while she was in Italy and she has NO memory of ever even going to Italy! The entire school trip has been completely erased from her memory. Basically they find out that Simone had been stabbed before the car accident and that Jill had been driving when the car rammed off a cliff. This makes Jill the number one suspect in the "murder." I kid you not while reading this book I kept thinking, 'wow this is so predictable,' but I was so incredibly wrong! With every new piece of evidence I thought that I knew who the murderer was. I came up with every single scenario you could possibly think of no matter how far fetched and I blamed every single character in the book at some point in time. I really thought that I had this book figured out. I kid you not with every book I've read by Eileen Cook I am more and more convinced that she is a criminal mastermind! Sometimes the most obvious option, just isn't even on your radar. This was a truly unique and unpredictable psychological murder mystery. 5 stars, I loved it, I'm curious to know people's thoughts on the ending. This book left me in shock! An incredible read!

m
ManizhaA
Jan 18, 2020

After attending Eileen Cooks "With Malice" book promotion session in my school's library, i was immediately interested in reading it as soon as i could. And i must say i wasn't disappointed, the book was brilliantly planned out, and had me hanging onto every page.
I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good murder mystery. Also would recommend her other book "you owe me a murder" which has a similar murder mystery layout.

s
susan_findlay
Aug 23, 2019

I really enjoyed this mystery with dual themes of the fragility of memory and truth.

The protagonist has survived a car accident in which her best friend died and she was severely injured, so she has no memory of it. She winds up learning bits and pieces of information about it - some from more reliable sources than others - and endeavors to remember. But would her memories be the truth or would they be reflections of what she's been told? Is the information on social media (and mainstream media) accurate, or is it more agenda-driven? Who decides the truth, and what matters more - the actual truth or what people believe?

A significant amount of the novel is told as police interviews, but there is a solid enough narrative centered around the protagonist that the multiple perspectives didn't bother me. Given the nature of the themes, they fit.

h
Hallieisabookworm
Aug 16, 2019

This was a great book. I was reading it last year for the Hyack teen read awards, but I got bored of it, so I stopped reading. I just finished reading the book yesturday and it was good. I am glad that I finally finished reading it. It was full of mystery, which I like and murder, which I love too.

l
Lismare
Oct 28, 2018

nothing special/10

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Nov 05, 2017

I really liked the quote "the truth is how you tell it." As someone who actually despises lying of any sort, this got me thinking of how others may view the blurred lines of social lies and truth-telling. Two girls involved in a car crash in Italy stir up a huge tornado in society, as some believe it wasn't an accident but a murder. When one wakes up, she is disorientated and has difficulty believing that her past six months have been erased from her memory. Trying to piece together her past is difficult, but it may still be easier than coming to realization of the truths that want to stay hidden. Could she really have committed a crime? A good but somewhat predictable read.
- @Siri of The Hamilton Public Library's Teen Review Board

s
stacyoonicorn
Aug 10, 2017

AMAZING!!!!!!!! probably one of the best books i read this year;)

g
gaoyitian
May 08, 2017

I just love this book so much. I suggest u guys to read it if u r a suspense and mystery fan:)

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SFPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top