With Malice

With Malice

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
15
For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive, compulsive read about a teenage girl who wakes up in a hospital bed and cannot remember the last six weeks of her life, including the accident that killed her best friend--only what if the accident wasn't an accident?
Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, [2016]
ISBN: 9780544805095
0544805097
Call Number: TEEN F COOK
Characteristics: 316 p. ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Jill has no memory of the last six weeks. Was her friend’s death really an accident?

List - Teen Picks - Mystery
SFPL_Teen May 10, 2016

Jill has no memory of the last six weeks. Was her friend’s death really an accident?


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
susan_findlay
Aug 23, 2019

I really enjoyed this mystery with dual themes of the fragility of memory and truth.

The protagonist has survived a car accident in which her best friend died and she was severely injured, so she has no memory of it. She winds up learning bits and pieces of information about it - some from more reliable sources than others - and endeavors to remember. But would her memories be the truth or would they be reflections of what she's been told? Is the information on social media (and mainstream media) accurate, or is it more agenda-driven? Who decides the truth, and what matters more - the actual truth or what people believe?

A significant amount of the novel is told as police interviews, but there is a solid enough narrative centered around the protagonist that the multiple perspectives didn't bother me. Given the nature of the themes, they fit.

h
Hallieisabookworm
Aug 16, 2019

This was a great book. I was reading it last year for the Hyack teen read awards, but I got bored of it, so I stopped reading. I just finished reading the book yesturday and it was good. I am glad that I finally finished reading it. It was full of mystery, which I like and murder, which I love too.

l
Lismare
Oct 28, 2018

nothing special/10

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Nov 05, 2017

I really liked the quote "the truth is how you tell it." As someone who actually despises lying of any sort, this got me thinking of how others may view the blurred lines of social lies and truth-telling. Two girls involved in a car crash in Italy stir up a huge tornado in society, as some believe it wasn't an accident but a murder. When one wakes up, she is disorientated and has difficulty believing that her past six months have been erased from her memory. Trying to piece together her past is difficult, but it may still be easier than coming to realization of the truths that want to stay hidden. Could she really have committed a crime? A good but somewhat predictable read.
- @Siri of The Hamilton Public Library's Teen Review Board

s
stacyoonicorn
Aug 10, 2017

AMAZING!!!!!!!! probably one of the best books i read this year;)

g
gaoyitian
May 08, 2017

I just love this book so much. I suggest u guys to read it if u r a suspense and mystery fan:)

With Malice by Eileen Cook is a thriller novel revolving around an amnesiac protagonist unravelling the mystery of her best friend’s death. Jill Charron awakens in a hospital bed with no memory of the past six weeks. She discovers that she was involved in a car accident which also killed her best friend, Simone. What’s worse is that the media has taken their story and twisted it into a dramatic murder plot instigated by none other than the devious “Chilly Jilly.” A notable point is that the novel utilizes several different methods to deliver its story, including police interviews, social media posts, and blog posts. It illustrates the tendency of outsiders on the internet to view stories with an uninformed, black-and-white perspective. Readers’ conclusions are also influenced by an unreliable and biased narrator, a detail which becomes very significant in the later portion of the story. Still, the novel was not without its flaws. The characters were not especially memorable; even the protagonist did not have any specifically prominent character traits. Readers sympathize with Jill more out of pity than out of a connection to her character. Minor characters often fell into tired stereotypes, such as the corrupt lawyer and the airheaded hunk. Much of the story is set inside of a hospital despite the book’s claims of a foreign setting in Italy. I would recommend this novel most to a young adult audience seeking a quick thrill with a unique take on the thriller genre.
- D.L

Caution - PLOT SPOILERS. With Malice is about a girl who supposedly murdered her best friend, but the girl has no memory of the events whatsoever.
I thought it was a poorly written book. The characters are so flat; the only thing that really changes is the girl's perspective on media which is obviously because she is target of all this.
There is a lot of build up of drama, but the climax, when she has a dream about what she thought may have happened, or she thinks her memory returned, is rank. Or maybe the climax is when shes at court and after a long time shes declared innocent.
Both are very disappointing
It is a very unique and original plot, but very difficult to write out well.
A lot of the drama is on social media, which is pretty accurate in today's society and her comment of how she thinks the media is always twisting everything to get a good story is interesting.

Maybe it's because I'm more into action-thrillers than drama, but I thought a lot of this book was a lot of nonsense.

Overall i give it a 4/10

-Reviewed from Fleetwood Teen E.Z.

p
PinesandPrejudice
Dec 19, 2016

This book was an interesting read. I liked the media aspect and how it was intertwined into the murder and the investigation. I thought the rehab center was great, informative and accurate. I liked the format of the story how it switched from first person to police interviews, etc. I didn't like the petty, high school jealousy storyline. I kept going because I wanted to see how it ended but the mystery itself was and to me. And the ending, I kind of saw it coming but not exactly and we still don't know if it's true...regardless it was a solid read, would recommend but not the best mystery/thriller I have ever read.

n
nomipafu
Nov 20, 2016

Towards the end I was quite scared as to what would happen next as everything was happening faster and faster. It felt so real; the characters are developed on point. I really enjoyed the rush and was intrigued by the relationships between everyone. I'm still intrigued as I just finished it and can't stop thinking about what really happened... The question always was, is Jill capable of killing her best friend? Well, the answer just got a whole lot more complicated. That's what I love about mystery. Good mystery is not just a mystery in the beginning, but also a mystery in the end.

Don't troll me VoxDude.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SFPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top