Healing Children

Healing Children

A Surgeon's Stories From the Frontiers of Pediatric Medicine

Book - 2017
Rate this:
"A groundbreaking medical memoir by one of our nation's leading pediatric surgeons - the visionary head of Children's National - for fans of Jerome Groopman and Atul Gwande. Anyone who has seen a child recover from a deep wound or a broken bone knows that kids are made to heal. Their bodies are more resilient, more adaptive, and far more able to withstand acute stress than adults. And yet children are often treated as an afterthought by the medical establishment and shunted off to doctors who specialize in treating adults. Will an anesthesiologist accustomed to treating older patients know how best to handle a toddler going under for the first time? If your soccer-playing daughter suffers a concussion, should you take her to the nearest ER--or drive further to seek out doctors who specialize in treating kids? In this deeply inspiring memoir Dr. Kurt Newman draws from his long experience as a pediatric surgeon working at one of our nation's top children's hospitals to make the case that children are more than miniature adults. Through the story of his own career and deeply moving accounts of the brave kids he has treated over the years (and their equally brave and determined parents) he reveals the revolution that is taking place in pediatric medicine"-- Provided by publisher.
"A groundbreaking medical memoir by one of our nation's leading pediatric surgeons--the visionary head of Children's National. "If you did nothing but read the astounding, miraculous and occasionally crushing stories that Dr. Newman so vividly relates about daily life in a pediatric hospital you would be enthralled byHealing Children. But there is a bigger truth to this book, a more compelling reason to read it. And that is to be brought fact to face with the many ways that we don't prioritize children's health. An amazing look at the tenacity and courage of kids and doctors under difficult circumstances."- Madeline Levine, author of The Price of Privilege Anyone who has seen a child recover from a wound or a broken bone knows that kids are made to heal. Their bodies are more resilient, more adaptive, and far more able to withstand acute stress than adults'. In this inspiring memoir, Dr. Kurt Newman draws from his long experience as a pediatric surgeon working at one of our nation's top children's hospitals to make the case that children are more than miniature adults. Through the story of his own career and of the brave kids he has treated over the years--and their equally brave and tenacious parents--he reveals the revolution that is taking place in pediatric medicine. When he decided to become a pediatric surgeon, the field was in its infancy, struggling for esteem. Now, nearly forty years later, it is at the forefront of exhilarating new discoveries in everything from cancer research to mental health care. But few parents know how to access the best care for their children. Far too many find themselves frustrated and afraid. Dr. Newman wrote this book to help guide parents--not just of sick kids but of all kids --and to share his knowledge of what children need to thrive. A deeply human story with a spectacular cast of young heroes and heroines, Healing Children will convince you that we still have a lot to learn from our kids"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, New York :, Viking,, [2017]
ISBN: 9780525428831
0525428836
Call Number: 618.92 N4657h
Characteristics: viii, 262 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SFPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top