The Burning : A Maeve Kerrigan Crime Novel

The Burning : A Maeve Kerrigan Crime Novel

eBook - 2011
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:

A determined young police constable goes it alone against an enigmatic killer and her bosses in a series debut for fans of Sophie Hannah and Tana French

The Burning Man. It's the name the media has given a brutal murderer who has beaten four young women to death before setting their bodies ablaze in secluded areas of London's parks. And now there's a fifth.

Maeve Kerrigan is an ambitious detective constable, keen to make her mark on the murder task force. Her male colleagues believe Maeve's empathy makes her weak, but the more she learns about the latest victim, Rebecca Haworth, from her grieving friends and family, the more determined Maeve becomes to bring her murderer to justice. But how do you catch a killer no one has seen when so much of the evidence has gone up in smoke?
Maeve's frenetic hunt for a killer in Jane Casey's gripping series debut will entrance even the most jaded suspense readers.

Publisher: Minotaur Books,, 2011
ISBN: 9781429921435
1429921439
Call Number: EBOOK AXIS 360
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file,rda
Additional Contributors: Baker & Taylor Axis 360

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
maipenrai
Oct 21, 2016

FIRST BOOK IN Maeve Kerrigan SERIES,

c
clarafuller
Jun 12, 2015

This is #1 in Maeve Kerrigan series. For my taste, too much of Maeve worrying about her hair, her shoes, and her clothes.

a
akmarti
Oct 23, 2014

Detective Maeve Kerrigan is a female in a male world. The characters are well-written.The story about whether or not the latest burning victim is part of a serial killing definitely held my interest although the ending was overlong.

a
artemishi
Aug 07, 2013

For a debut novel, Casey did a fantastic job. This book is classic murder mystery, complete with wonderfully flawed characters, brilliant British charm, and a true mystery (well, several of them, actually). I recommend it for any fan of the murder mystery genre, and I hope to read more about Maeve's exploits in the future!

c
cheadlebeagle
Nov 05, 2011

I thought this was a terrific book and a great new character which I hope the author develops. I did not guess who had done it so it kept the suspense for me.

sjmitra Sep 19, 2011

Deftly written police procedural / murder mystery. Unfortunately, the reader guesses quickly enough the murderer's identity and spends most of the book wondering how the protagonist / detective misses it. Not enough development of the motive or of the murderer. The protagonist, Maeve Kerrigan, is likable inspite of her delay at solving the crime -- so many "duh" moments -- and I'd like to see her reappear in more books.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SFPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top