State of the Union

State of the Union

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
America's worst nightmare has just become a brutal reality. The most unlikely terrorist enemy of all now holds a knife against the country's throat. With both diplomatic and conventional military options swept from the table, the president calls upon Navy SEAL turned Secret Service agent, Scot Harvath, to disable a brilliantly orchestrated conspiracy intended to bring the United States to its knees. Teamed with beautiful Russian Intelligence agent Alexandra Ivanova and a highly trained CIA paramilitary detachment, Harvath embarks on an adrenaline-fueled search that spans the world--and leads to a final, deadly showdown on American soil, with a lethal and sinister enemy from the past.
Publisher: New York : Pocket Books, 2011, c2004
Edition: Pocket Books pbk. ed
ISBN: 9781451607925
145160792X
Characteristics: 562 p. ; 19 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

7
7626dee
Jun 28, 2016

I rarely do not finish a book once started but this tale lost me by page 35. Brad needs a good editor to organize his writings.

b
billmacrotarian
Dec 26, 2015

Brad Thor’s Scott Harvath novels are loaded with action and State of the Union is no exception. The stakes are high with nuclear weapons in the hands of Russian terrorists. Can Harvath save the US? Of course, but it’s the journey that’s fun. My only complaint with this novel is that it’s too long. It could have been cut in half. If you like Thor then I’d suggest the late Vince Flynn. If you want a little more nuance and fewer good/bad characterizations then proceed to Alex Berenson.

t
tedrich2921
Nov 26, 2015

For fans of Brad Thor and Scot Harvath, you will want to read this tightly written, well crafted novel. My only quibble is that the ending has no twist. I don't think this is a spoiler alert: bad guys caught, man gets girl. I think Thor needs to work a little harder on the ending because this was worth the journey, just not very satisfying on the destination. However, if you go into the book, knowing that cravat, you will still enjoy the journey.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at SFPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top