Lament for the Valley

Lament for the Valley

for solo violin & string orchestra or violin & piano

Printed Music - 2017
Rate this:
(Boosey & Hawkes Chamber Music). Composed for Joo Yeon Sir, winner of The Arts Club Karl Jenkins Music Award 2014, in association with Classic fM, and first performed the following year at London's Royal Albert with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by the composer. Constructed like a passacaglia, the plaintive opening statement gradually rises to a passionate virtuoso display featuring double stops and advanced bowing and pizzicato techniques before subsiding to a calm close. The composer later incorporated the work into Cantata Memoria, a commemoration of the 1966 Aberfan tragedy. Performance materials available on hire. Suitable for advanced standard performers.
Publisher: London :, Boosey & Hawkes,, [2017]
Edition: Violin & piano
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9781784542597
Call Number: SCORE 787.11 J4175L
Characteristics: 1 score (7 pages) + 1 part (3 pages) ; 31 cm
Additional Contributors: Sir, Joo Yeon 1990-- Dedicatee


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SFPL

To Top