The Captain's Daughter

The Captain's Daughter

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
PEOPLE magazine says: "Don't miss this heartfelt story about paths not taken."

For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have been

Growing up in Little Harbor, Maine, the daughter of a widowed lobsterman, Eliza Barnes could haul a trap and row a skiff with the best of them. But she always knew she'd leave that life behind. Now that she's married, with two kids and a cushy front-row seat to suburban country club gossip in an affluent Massachusetts town, she feels adrift.

When her father injures himself in a boating accident, Eliza pushes the pause button on her own life to come to his aid. But when she arrives in Maine, she discovers her father's situation is more dire than he let on. Eliza's homecoming is further complicated by the reemergence of her first love--and memories of their shared secret. Then Eliza meets Mary Brown, a seventeen-year-old local who is at her own crossroad, and Eliza can't help but wonder what her life would have been like if she'd stayed.

Filled with humor, insight, summer cocktails, and gorgeous sunsets, THE CAPTAIN'S DAUGHTER is a compassionate novel about the life-changing choices we make and the consequences we face in their aftermath.
Publisher: Doubleday,, 2017
ISBN: 9780385541268
0385541260
Call Number: EBOOK AXIS 360
Characteristics: text file,rda
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Baker & Taylor Axis 360

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
maraloma
Oct 06, 2017

Language and subject matter not for me. Never finished it.

a
AnneCarolineDrake
Jul 24, 2017

It wasn't a surprise to read that the author had given up on the book before she decided to finish it. The second half was written with far more enthusiasm and heart than the first part. Keep reading. The ending is worth it.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SFPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top